For the media

The Wellcome Book Prize celebrates the topics of health and medicine in literature. It awards £30,000 each year to the winning author, and aims to stimulate interest and debate about medical science through books and reading.

The prize crosses genres: fiction and non-fiction are both eligible, so its shortlists can include biography, crime, historical fiction, current affairs, sci-fi and more. Its judging panels include scientists, writers, journalists and public figures, and past chairs have included Jo Brand, Clive Anderson and Mark Lawson.

The prize shortlists six books every March, and the winner is announced in April.

Press releases & statements

Wellcome Book Prize announces 2019 longlist


The 2019 Wellcome Book Prize longlist is announced today, Tuesday 5 February, celebrating exceptional works of literature that illuminate the many ways that health, medicine and illness touch our lives.


If you wish to use the Wellcome Book Prize logo as part of your press coverage, please contact Hannah McMillan at Midas PR (details below) to obtain assets and guidelines for their use.

Contact Details